Support Herb Society Teacher Grant on #GivingTuesday

By Paris Wolfe, Blogmaster, The Herb Society of America

giving-tuesdayWho do you support with donations of time and money? Health issues? Education? Church? Literacy? The Arts? Public radio/television? I choose activities that involve my children and the environment. And, of course, The Herb Society of America.

One year, I was so busy, I found myself donating to the Ohio Environmental Council over the phone by credit card at 3 p.m.  New Year’s Eve. With the creation of #GivingTuesday I’m reminded to take care of charity business a bit earlier in the year.

Founded in 2012 #Giving Tuesday is celebrated on the Tuesday following Thanksgiving (in the U.S.). It comes after Black Friday and Cyber Monday and kicks off the year-end charitable season.

The Herb Society of America is participating in #GivingTuesday, November 29, 2016. “We support The Samull Classroom Herb Garden Program,” says Katrinka Morgan, executive director. “This year we’re inviting HSA members, family and friends to help us with that outreach.”

Donald Samull was an elementary school teacher who used herbs in his classroom to teach math, science, English, and social studies.  Through a gift from his estate, The Herb Society of America established The Samull Classroom Herb Garden Grant. Annually, ten schools receive $200 in “seed” money to start gardens at their school and share a variety of lessons. Collaboration, sustainability, and outcomes are encouraged in the grant applications.

kidsgardeningInterest in the grant has grown dramatically. In 2010, the first year of the Samull Grant, the Society received three applications. In 2016, more than 200 applications arrived from school in almost every state. Over the past six years, the Samull grant has been awarded to 40-plus schools.

Your donations to Samull Grant support classrooms like Christine’s. She received the Samull Classroom Herb Garden Grant in 2012-13. “Mr. Samull was my teacher in the third grade and the reason I became a teacher. I use herbs in my classroom because of what he taught me. He influenced my life just as I hope to influence the lives of my students.”

Donate here.

Leave a Reply

