Building a Realistic 2017 Garden Journal

melridge-herb-garden

1990 – My first herb garden

By Paris Wolfe, Blogmaster, The Herb Society of America

Last year I started an Herb Garden Journal. I did really well in May. I listed my goals, cataloged my seeds. Then nothing. I’m not surprised. I spent more time in the garden (and on the motorcycle) than writing about the garden. And, that was the best use of my time. My only regret is not taking more pictures. I like to look back and reflect.

This year I’ll do what’s realistic and useful. I’ll reflect, dream, plan, catalog and photograph. And, that’s enough.

1. Reflect … Review last year’s plans to see what worked, what didn’t work and what I should revisit, repeat or relinquish.

2. Pinterest … Examine herb gardens and save my favorite ideas. I may develop my own interpretation or not. Nonetheless, I’ll expose myself to the creativity and unconsciously absorb what I might need.

garden-goals3. Plan … This is a two-step process for me.

  • Set goals … Determine what I want from each of the five major garden plots, window boxes and container gardens.
  • Identify steps to get there … List the steps, such as testing and enriching soil, to achieve those goals

4. Catalog … Identify what I planted whereby saving seed packs and catalog descriptions, taking photos or making sketches.

5. Photo … Take pictures at the beginning, in late summer and in between … posting to Facebook as the muse moves me.

2 thoughts on “Building a Realistic 2017 Garden Journal

Leave a Reply

